five|one|nine photography

the best way to find yourself is to discover where you are

tim cook June 21, 2010

Filed under: happy monday,music,personal — sylvia @ 8:10 am

It’s no secret to my friends that I love The Weakerthans in an unholy and obsessive way. Ages and ages ago, I came across this drawing by Tim Cook and fell absolutely in love:

i'm trying not to wonder where you are

i'm trying not to wonder where you are - the weakerthans

For those of you who haven’t discovered the gorgeousness of John K. Samson‘s songwriting, behold:

Left and Leaving

My city’s still breathing (but barely it’s true) through buildings gone missing like teeth. The sidewalks are watching me think about you, all sparkled with broken glass. I’m back with scars to show. Back with the streets I know. They never take me anywhere but here. Those stains in the carpet, this drink in my hand, these strangers whose faces I know. We meet here for our dress-rehearsal to say ” I wanted it this way” and wait for the year to drown. Spring forward, fall back down. I’m trying not to wonder where you are. All this time lingers, undefined. Someone choose who’s left and who’s leaving. Memory will rust and erode into lists of all that you gave me: some matches, a blanket, this pain in my chest, the best parts of Lonely, duct-tape and soldered wires, new words for old desires, and every birthday card I threw away. I wait in 4/4 time. Count yellow highway lines that you’re relying on to lead you home.

I thought Tim captured the feeling of the song so perfectly and I spent a happy afternoon perusing all of his drawings. I forgot to bookmark the site and only this week was I able to remember what magic keywords I had used when I first found it.

Visit Tim’s site, Le Silencieux and check out his shop as well. I’m hoping some day he’ll have prints available.

And if you want to stalk me while I stalk The Weakerthans, come find me at:

Aug 06 Fri: Peterborough, ON – The Legendary Red Dog, 189 Hunter St.
Aug 07 Sat: Wolfe Island, ON – Wolfe Island Music Festival
Aug 08 Sun: Waterloo, ON – The Waterloo Stage Theatre, 24 King St. N

 

Leave a Reply

