five|one|nine photography

the best way to find yourself is to discover where you are

mindfulness June 16, 2010

Filed under: blog,one shot wednesdays,personal — sylvia @ 10:46 pm

I’ve been moving backwards in my photography. It’s been a slow movement, and until now a subconscious one.

With the advent of digital, the temptation is always there to go with a shotgun approach: take a hundred photos and maybe one will stick. But I’m impatient. And while taking as many photos as possible was a great learning tool early on, wading through the results and then storing so many of them had long ago become a chore.

So now, it’s one shot. Maybe two. And if I don’t nail it, I let it go and I learn from it.

Today, a little vase of flowers from my neighbour’s wedding. Room for improvement, and it makes me smile.

 

3 Responses to “mindfulness”

  1. […] One-Shot is courtesy  of the map library at Western, who was giving away random old maps and lithographs. I […]

  2. […] idea for the One Shot Wednesdays series was thwarted by an unfortunate flare up of my lower back problem. With the only camera in […]

  3. […] One Shot was nearly a black square; somehow I’d deleted the image between taking it and throwing the […]


Leave a Reply

